Guest Reviews

We’ve been welcoming guests to our apartment since April 2013. Our guests have come from the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, France, the UK, Denmark, Mexico and Hong Kong. Most of these reviews were left on our original VRBO listing (25 five-star reviews!), plus we have several reviews from 2017 and 2018 that guests submitted to us directly.

These reviews will give you a much better sense of the apartment, as well as information about enjoying the village and the area.

2018

Louise and Doug – Massachusetts, USA (March/April 2018)
One week at Kathy and Charley Wood’s beautiful home, Bonheur en Bonnieux, wasn’t nearly enough. In 2016 we’d left there early on a Friday morning after a too-short week. When we went out the door with our luggage to head for the parking lot, baskets of strawberries lined the street facing Place Gambetta. Bonnieux market day! How could we be leaving? “We have to come back and arrange it so we have two Bonnieux market days,” we said to ourselves. We headed out, leaving the square as it was filling up with fruit, vegetable, cheese, sausage, and chicken vendors along with soap, scarf, textile, jewelry sellers, and many others.

Two years later, in 2018, we were back, this time for two weeks, and two Bonnieux market days. We took hikes we hadn’t had time for in 2016 thanks to Kathy’s excellent instructions. We went to the incomparable l’Arôme Restaurant, just under the awning below the apartment. We had two weeks of sunsets, a pottery fair, winery visits, and valleys full of cherry trees in bloom. We gave ourselves two of the l’Isle-sur-Sorgue Sunday market, one of the liveliest street parties in Provence. The second time around, we barely packed maps and books since we knew Kathy and Charley had bookshelves of them. Moreover, following their descriptions of activities guests might enjoy, we had best insider travel advice anyone could ask for. No need to buy spices since the kitchen is outfitted like ours at home only with Provençal yellow and red pottery and beautiful local art. The terrace is like the prow of a ship, overlooking Bonnieux’s main street and the tradespeople we frequented–the butcher, the baker, the candle stick (antique) seller. They’re all there, just meters away from Bonheur en Bonnieux. So, oui, we passed two relaxing and joyous weeks’ worth of “bonheurs.” Merci, Kathy and Charley.

 

2017

Gisèle – Alberta, Canada (September/October 2017)
The Bonnieux apartment was a haven during our visit to the Luberon. It was like living at home with all the amenities at our disposal. We each had our own bedroom which was lovely after the tiny hotel room we had experienced. The location is very central not only to the town but for our daily trips of discovery. Kathy and Charlie gave us wonderful insight to treasures within Bonnieux but also what to look for and “not miss” in other towns. They are generous hosts and I would definitely rent from them again.

 

Christine – Saskatchewan, Canada (September/October 2017)
The Bonnieux apartment was ‘home’ for two weeks and was cosy and comfortable. What a delight to walk up the street every morning for just-baked croissants and bread and have the weekly market around the corner from the apartment. Locals were friendly, curious about us, and always helpful. There is lots to see in Bonnieux! We were also within easy daily driving to villages like Lacoste, Isle sur la Sorgue, Rousillon, Lourmarin, Gordes, and local vineyards and olive groves and could explore every day. Kathy and Charlie were lovely hosts and prepared us thoroughly to get the most out of our stay. I will rent this apartment again!

 

Jeanne A – California, USA (July 2017)
Four of us spent 8 nights at this beautiful apartment located in the heart of Bonnieux. The owners, Kathy and Charlie, provided helpful information prior to our stay which included easy to follow directions, a map, shopping information, dining and points of interest. The apartment is well equipped with everything needed for a great vacation including a lovely bottle of wine and a bowl of fresh fruit from our hosts. They have thought of everything. The upstairs has two bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen/ dining and living room. The kitchen is amazing and has a covered patio that we used every morning. It overlooks the quaint town and is a great place to relax with wine and cheese at the end of the day too.The downstairs has a separate bedroom suite that has its own mini-kitchenette for coffee and tea-making. It’s spacious and well appointed. We loved the walk-in shower.

This is a beautiful town and there are so many great restaurants within walking distance. Every morning we walked to one of two bakeries for fresh croissants. It was so hard to say goodbye to this little piece of heaven, and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you Kathy and Charlie… you get 5 stars from us!

 

Jim T – Washington, USA (July 2017)
We had stayed in Bonnieux previously on one of Charlie’s and Kathy’s tours and were anxious to return to this charming village. The maps and information that were provided prior to our arrival were very helpful and thorough. When we arrived we found that the apartment was perfect for the four of us. We stayed in one of the two upstairs bedrooms and found it to be very comfortable. Kathy and Charlie have spared no expense in taking care of everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we could possibly want to prepare a meal. There was a wealth of information on the village and recommended day trips.

The apartment is right in the middle of this beautiful village and it was a short walk every morning to one of the two bakeries for our morning croissants. We spent each morning on the deck overlooking the town and planning our day. The parking area for our rental car was readily accessible and after breakfast we would head out on one of the tours recommended in the excellent information left in the apartment.

It was a short walk every evening to one of the many excellent restaurants in the village and the villagers were very cordial.

It felt like home and we would love to return again, and again. Thank you for sharing your second home with us. It was wonderful.

 

Ellen T – Washington, USA (July 2017)
A few years ago my husband and I took a small group tour of the villages of the Luberon with European Experiences and Charley Wood as our guide. One of the villages that most enchanted us was Bonnieux and we vowed to return one day.

When we heard that Charley and Kathy Wood had remodeled an apartment in Bonnieux and now were now renting it to travelers, we jumped at the chance to stay there, sight unseen.

We were not disappointed. The apartment rests right in the heart of Bonnieux, just a few steps out the door you can walk to the local bakery, pizzeria, pharmacy or a gourmet restaurant. The three bedroom apartment (one of the bedrooms has a small mini-kitchenette and full walk-in shower) is beautifully appointed (delightfully charming), spotlessly clean, and quite comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked… we wanted for nothing! Charley and Kathy’s attention to detail is commendable They provided not only a comfortable, enchanting place to stay but a full binder of things to see and do. We loved our stay there and are pleased to recommend it to those traveling to the Luberon. The apartment is a gem!

 

Shirley and Gary – Virginia, USA (June 2017)
This apartment is situated in the heart of the small village of Bonnieux. We enjoyed its close proximity to a market, bakeries, restaurants, the post office with outside ATM, the gas station, a pharmacy, etc. We found the locals to be very friendly and helpful to our inquiries. We also thoroughly enjoyed exploring the multi-level village on foot. Several days we loved driving to and exploring other villages within 30 minutes or so to Bonnieux.

We found the apartment to be spacious with 2 floors, immaculately clean, and beautifully and very comfortably furnished. Even though it was just my husband and myself, there is plenty of room for a couple and another person on the top level and another couple in the downstairs bedroom. The top floor has 2 bedrooms (one with a queen bed and one with twin beds), a full bath, comfortable living room with tv and dvds which we enjoyed in the evenings, a fully furnished eat-in kitchen, and an outside porch space with table and chairs for 4 or more. This space enjoys beautiful artwork, beautiful Provence tableware, a dishwasher and clothes washer, and almost anything one would need in a fully-functioning kitchen. In addition, the bookshelves are filled with travel books and maps, all fully accessible to guests. We were enchanted by the home-like setting.

The downstairs Master bedroom with Queen sized bed and beautiful linens is also quite spacious, beautifully decorated, and with every convenience considered. We loved the separate breakfast room off this bedroom with small table and chairs and another coffee pot. Just off this room is a small outside terrace perfect for enjoying morning coffee or evening drinks. This master bedroom is just off the level of entrance into the apartment before the stairs to ascend to level 2. Like upstairs, I loved the beautiful linens shared by our hosts and the considerate inclusion of items making our week away feel like home.

We found parking to be easy and shopping convenient. The views of the Luberon Mountains, red-roofed old buildings, narrow streets, old churches, multi-leveled streets, flowers, old shuttered windows and doors, all provided a perfect backdrop for sightseeing and much picture taking. We strongly recommend this village and apartment to anyone considering a trip to Provence. It feels like a home away from home and provides a wonderfully restful vacation while busily sightseeing. Best of all, the hosts were friendly, easy to rent from, helpful, considerate, and replied in a timely manner. The Woods are people one would love to include in your list of friends. The Friday market in Bonnieux was superb too and we found some excellent bargains to take home with us.

 

Rebecca A- Michigan, USA (March 2017)

If you want to experience life in an authentic French village, this is your place. Step out the front door in the morning, and get your croissants or baguette. Savor your breakfast from your own patio overlooking the street in your village. You will quickly be recognizing faces and greeting your French friends with a smile and bonjour. The apartment is completely comfortable and thoughtfully furnished. The beds are comfortable and towels and linens are good quality. The kitchen is very well equipped if you want to do your own cooking. I particularly enjoyed the downstairs bedroom suite with its own updated bath. The updating of this entire apartment has kept the authentic charm of the old while adding the conveniences of the modern baths and kitchen. I have rented before from VRBO and this apartment is by far the best equipped, from kitchen supplies to its library of books, maps and movies. Although you are on a street, the apartment is very quiet. You receive very clear communications from the owners and their response is always quick. I had always wanted to live village life in France. Bonnieux and this apartment were a dream come true for me.

 

2016

Linda T – California, USA (June 2016)
My husband and I stayed in this very comfortable and perfectly located apartment for a week and wish we had booked it for longer. We’ve spent a few weeks each summer over the last 9 years in the Luberon and can’t get enough of it. This is the first time that we tried a village setting. What fun to be in the middle of town! It’s out the door and just a few steps for a wonderful restaurant, a few more steps to pick up croissants to munch while sipping coffee on the veranda that overlooks the city. This apartment is a delight with everything you could possibly want in a rental and more. All rooms were spotless with a spacious kitchen that was fully stocked and lovely Provençal touches and local artists prints throughout. This is truly a home away from home and one the Woods have furnished and supplied to make it the most pleasant stay possible. We loved it and plan to return and that’s proof positive of our recommendation. Timely, detailed and accurate communication from Kathy made the booking and the arrival easy. A bookcase full of guidebooks and the owners personal suggestions will give any guest resources to fully enjoy the beautiful Luberon area. I do not exaggerate, we loved it and highly recommend it.

 

Sandy N – New South Wales, Australia (June 2016)
Last month I spent 5 days in my favourite village in the Luberon. I was fortunate enough to enjoy the time at a beautiful apartment in Bonnieux. Kathy and Charley Wood have created a home anyone would be loathe to leave. No detail has been missed, in fact the only thing missing was Kathy and Charley (and Kelly)!! I was in my idea of heaven. The warmest welcome from friends old, and new, looking out for me, meeting for a glass of rosé, driving around finding lavender fields in bloom…. a perfect resting spot for recovery after the long trip from Australia. Packing to leave was a wrench, soothed only by the knowledge that a week with Kathy and Charley in the Alsace was waiting.

I need to slow down a little these days, so I had no time hanging heavily, so easy to sit on the balcony and watch the village life go on around me. Time to take the time to chat to Madame at the Boulangerie when buying my croissant and a wedge of quiche … the warmth with which she responded to my basic french was a highlight each morning. Restful to have no driving, a sense of achievement to make the rather steep climb to the “old” church at the top of the village. Conversations with shop owners, sometimes half each language and accompanied by mime … feeling that it would not be difficult to stay forever. This was my fourth visit to Bonnieux, and though I love everywhere I have visited with European Experiences, if a few peaceful days are what you yearn for, this is the place. (Obviously, a car would give the chance to see more countryside, more villages etc.) A word of warning: the make-up mirror in the bathroom is VERY revealing!

 

Cheryl C – Wisconsin, USA (March 2016)
Our stay was out of season in March. Weather was cool but sunny. We thought perfect time of year to visit, some places are closed but plenty of good places to eat and great trade for quiet villages and no queuing in lines for attractions. Everywhere we went was peaceful.

The apartment is spacious and comfortable. Much more than we expected. The kitchen is large and well laid out. Nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. Hosts informative and accommodating. Everything a rental should be.

 

2015

Edy N -Massachusetts, USA (October 2015)
We felt as if we were guests in the Woods’ home. Thank you Kathy! Before our trip and during our stay in their apartment the owners were remarkably helpful in responding to trip planning (complicated since we were meeting my cousin from Germany + we’re from the US) + other questions. The village is beautiful + the people are friendly. The apartment is pretty, and comfortable + well-located. Also – as others have mentioned – the kitchen is well-stocked – we had everything we could have wanted in terms of equipment, condiments, and paper + other goods. There’s only 1 bathroom + it’s on a different level from the other rooms (there are stairs up to it) which I thought might be a problem during the night – but everything is well-lit – so it was no problem. Also- the owners have provided (in the apartment) detailed information about the apartment, the town + the region – which was really helpful

 

Anonymous (August 2015)
We stayed a week at the Woods’ idyllic apartment in super charming Bonnieux, a picture postcard hilltop village dating back to the 12th century (but with all the modern amenities). We do not exaggerate in saying that every conceivable detail of the apartment has been considerately attended to, including a chef’s kitchen, of which we took great advantage, although there are several excellent restaurants well within walking distance. The spacious, comfortable apartment is ideally located on the lower half of the village and so it enjoys great views of the countryside as well as easy walking. And, of course, there is the weekly farmers’ market. We feel there is no need for our future exploration for a place to stay in the Luberon. We have found it already in Bonnieux!

 

Bob & Linda – British Columbia, Canada (July/August 2015)
We spent two weeks in Bonnieux in late July/early August at the Woods’ apartment and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our vacation.

Bonnieux is a beautiful little village in the Luberon Valley and is the perfect “home base” from which to explore the many pretty villages and gorgeous scenery in this part of Provence.

This apartment is perfectly situated at the base of the hill in Bonnieux (helpful if you wish to minimize your hill climbing), close to many fine restaurants, the weekly farmers market, boulangeries, cafes and other amenities.

The apartment itself is perfect. It is clean, bright and spacious. Walking in the front door, we felt like we had come home. We really appreciated the artwork displayed on the walls. The covered terrace off the kitchen is a real bonus. We spent many wonderful hours on the terrace, eating, sipping wine and relaxing in the warmth of a gentle afternoon breeze. The kitchen is the best equipped of any apartment we have rented in France during the past several years.

You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay in this apartment. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay for two weeks more. Perhaps next time. Enjoy!

 

Jerelen – North Carolina, USA (July 2015)
Our long planned and anticipated vacation to France has come and gone, but what a time we had!! We ended our trip with a week in Bonnieux at the Wood’s beautiful apartment. None of us had previously traveled to the Provence area and this was the perfect location to enjoy “town life”, neighboring hill villages and surrounding countryside. We enjoyed all our day trips; lavender and sunflower fields, 2000 year old Roman bridge, medieval chateaus and keeps, multiple beautiful towns and markets… and the Rose wine, ah the Rose!!

We enjoyed our daily outings but always loved coming back to “Bonheur en Bonnieux” for a glass of wine, talk over what we had enjoyed that day, pick out a local restaurant for a late meal (many wonderful ones to try) and then back to the apartment to pour over guide books to plan the next days adventure.

We found the Provence area to be very sensually “rich”, touching all the senses. The Wood’s apartment is beautifully decorated with all the colors of Provence throughout… red for poppies, blue for lavender and yellow for sunflowers. We enjoyed the village sounds wafting through the windows each night… late night diners, music from the square (2 music nights the week we were there.. dancing in the street.. fun). And the beautiful aroma seeping through our bedroom windows at about 5:30 am.. Ah, the local baker making our daily petit dejeuner of croissants and baguettes… and the smell of lavender coming, seemingly from everywhere!! And then taste… everything was so fresh. I do not think I have ever tasted a tomato so good.

So, thank you Charlie and Kathy. Your “bonheur” apartment was so perfect and you have thought of everything from fruit and wine on arrival, pots of flowers on the terrace for me to water and “fuss” over, well appointed kitchen (we did not cook a thing), comfortable beds with fluffy pillows, books.. movies.. music for a rainy day, travel guides and suggestions etc. We had a great experience in Bonnieux and now have great memories..

 

Robert – Quebec, Canada (June/July 2015)
We spent a glorious month in Kathy and Charley’s wonderful apartment in the beautiful hill town of Bonnieux. As soon as we walked in the door it felt like home. The pictures on the web do not give you a sense of how great the place is. From the well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, lovely art work and delightful terrace, everything has been carefully chosen to ensure your well being and comfort. We loved that the apartment was situated in a village with fine restaurants, butcher shop, boutiques, art galleries and Monsieur Guy’s fantastic boulangerie. Bonnieux is located within 30 minutes to an hour’s drive of all the places we wanted to visit in the Luberon. We loved hiking the trails recommended by Kathy. We especially loved the markets bursting with delicious fresh produce which enabled us to prepare almost all our meals, eaten outside on the terrace with a view. We appreciated the air conditioning on those few days we really needed it and the washing machine, clothes pins and collapsible drying rack.
This has been one of our best adventures. The Luberon with its plants and animals, the sun, the Roman and medieval architecture, the markets, the incredible food and wine have been, for us new to the region, all unique and seductive. Being fluent in French, we were taken in by the openness and generosity of the people here. The lavender fields took our breath away.

We hope to return, but in a different season for a different experience. In the interim we hope Provence stays the same and globalization does not rob its soul.

Thank you Kathy and Charley for your patience in answering all our questions and helping make this a perfect vacation. We loved your perfect Bonheur!

 

Gavin – New South Wales, Australia (March/April 2015)
We’ve stayed in apartments throughout France and Italy for over 40 weeks at different times in the last 15 years and the Wood’s apartment is the best we’ve experienced. Not only is the kitchen as well appointed as you would expected in your own home, the beds are comfy, the furnishings tasteful and the location perfect.

Despite being seasoned slow travellers, Bonnieux worked some sort of magic and slowed us down even further. We really could have spent 4 weeks or more to explore the Luberon. There were days when we planned on visiting four other villages and only made it to two. Other days we settled for a leisurely one and probably experienced more.

Kathy’s advise on visiting Cassis was absolutely brilliant. While a 90 minutes drive away, the 6 hours we spent there were sublime. Admittedly it was early spring and the hordes from Marseille were yet to descend on the town, however we’d even brave them for a repeat visit.

One of the highlights was overcoming a terror of heights and cliffs when we accidentally climbed “the Hidden Staircase” at Fort Buoux. The easy path taken afterwards lead to the Roman settlement on top of the ridge and the tranquillity to calm the beating heart.

A word of warning, don’t ever leave valuables in your boot when out sightseeing.

Thanks Kathy & Charley for sharing your second home.

 

2014

Carrollanne – New South Wales, Australia (September 2014)We loved the apartment in the lovely village of Bonnieux. It is very comfortable, well appointed and in a great location. We enjoyed being right in the heart of village life. The apartment is very well appointed and is really like a home away from home. We enjoyed Charlie’s book – a rival for Peter Mayle. Lovely to have DVDs to watch and a wealth of information on the bookshelf. So many great restaurants and cafes right at the door and a wonderful weekly market. We will miss Bonnieux and hope to return one day. Thanks for the magnificent space you have created.

 

Bette – Montana, USA (October 2014)Bonheur in Bonnieux, Provence was my first experience in France and it will not be my last. Bonnieux is a charming village and the apartment is so centrally located that you can, from your patio perch, watching all that is going on from morning to evening. The Woods have thoughtfully provided everything one could need, including guidebooks, a detailed notebook about the apartment, the local places, etc. In addition, one is welcomed to the Provencal-decorated home with a bottle of wine, olives, and grapes! My goal was to experience village life and one can certainly do it from here, in complete confort, withOUT a car if you choose. I recommend this rental without reservation! Bonne vacance!

 

Charlotte – Arizona, USA (August 2014)The owners of this apartment have thought of all the “things” that make it feel like your own home: comfortable and welcoming (well equipped gourmet kitchen, beautiful prints and paintings throughout, comfortable beds and great views from the bedrooms; wonderful little balcony off the spacious kitchen….a great space to sip wine and experience the ambience of the village life). Oh yes, not to mention the amazing views and surroundings of Bonnieux with many, many other villages close by to explore with their rich history and natural beauty. If you love to explore (from the beautiful country sides to the markets and galleries and the caves and ruins) this is a vacation spot for you to have a once in a lifetime adventure and come “home” at the end of the day to an apartment that feels like your own.

 

Marti – Virginia, USA (July 2014)I just returned from a 3 week stay at this wonderful apartment in Bonnieux. It is hard to describe just how great this place is. It is in the center of the fabulous village of Bonnieux. Walking distance to everything. You practically fall into the the cafés and shops. The view from the terrace and bedrooms is of both the village and the gorgeous Luberon mountains.

The kitchen is charming and has everything you need, including a dinning table. The Provençal theme is throughout and makes you feel right at home. Kathy and Charley have thought of everything. I met wonderful artists and shopkeepers in Bonnieux and will remember them always. They were so hospitable! My daughter joined me the 3rd week and we had a wonderful “girls” getaway. She loved the apartment and Provence as much as I did! I wholeheartly recommend this charming “home away from home” during your visit to Provence! Thanks Kathy and Charley for a memorable trip!

 

Erin – New South Wales, Australia (June 2014)Right from my first enquiry Kathy and Charley were wonderful to deal with. The booking process was easy and secure. The instructions Kathy provided for check in were also very detailed and easy to follow which made our welcome so much easier! We arrived later than expected after a cancelled train from Spain and Kathy and her friends in Bonnieux made arrangements for us. A wonderful welcoming basket of fresh fruits, wine and vegetables awaited us. The kitchen in the apartment was as well equipped as our own, which made cooking so easy. We shopped at the local markets daily to buy produce to cook for lunch and dinner. The village of Bonnieux is a great little place, quiet but with all the necessities. Short drive to surrounding villages, nice walks from the village too. The apartment also provided us with some evening entertainment of board games, music and DVDs, great for relaxing after dinner with a wine and or ice cream from the local ice cream store. All in all, I would 100% recommend this apartment to anyone, and if I am ever fortunate enough to be back in Provence I will stay here again.

 

Robert L – Victoria, Australia (June 2014)Absolutely perfect apartment in a most charming village. Wonderful location and the apartment can’t be faulted.

 

Julie – Tennessee, USA (May 2014)The apartment in Bonnieux was fantastic. It was decorated very nicely and the owners had thought of everything you could need while there. The terrace overlooking the town and valley was great. We had local wine and cheese out there every afternoon with our fresh bread from the bakery. The town market was held on a day that we were there and it was literally outside our door. I can not say enough about this property – it was exceptional.

 

Elizabeth – Texas, USA (April 2014)My husband and I stayed in the Bonnieux apartment for a week in April. The location in the village couldn’t be better – close to parking, dining and the weekly market is right outside the door. The apartment was quiet and tranquil in spite of being in the middle of the village.

We’ve stayed in many rental apartments, and this one was by far the best equipped. Kathy has thought of every convenience, from baskets in the bathroom to hold your toiletries to an ideally equipped kitchen. She even has shopping baskets hanging by the outside door and detailed instructions for everything.

The furniture in the living room is very comfortable, and the artwork on the walls throughout the apartment makes it pleasant to spend time there. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is larger than most. There is lots of storage for clothes and suitcases in the bedrooms.

We were very happy with the apartment, and would love to return.

 

Donna W – British Columbia, Canada (March 2014)We spent 2 weeks in this lovely apartment. We have never stayed in such a well thought-out and equipped vacation rental. The kitchen was extremely well outfitted for cooking with all the basics and spices, salts, oil etc present. A detailed instruction manual had been put together for all the appliances, and was helpful with tips about recycling, shopping etc. The apartment was spotless and extremely comfortable. There was ample storage for clothing and luggage, and the washing machine and drying rack and outdoor line came in very handy. The outdoor covered terrace proved a lovely place to sit on a warm day. There was free wifi too. The village of Bonnieux was a perfect choice to use as a base to explore the Luberon region, and with it’s combination of services, shops, restaurants, and parking; probably the best village to come home to each day in the area. Thank you for such a perfect stay in Bonnieux.

 

2013

Merle – USA(October 2013)
From the moment we arrived in the small village of Bonnieux,I knew we were going to enjoy our week. The apartment entrance was located on a small pedestrian street right in the middle of the village. After parking with no problem, we got our suitcases from the car and walked down the short, narrow street to the apartment. We unlocked the door and walked into a small cheerful foyer on the first floor. Then we pulled our suitcases up the staircase to the second floor. We were happy when we saw that the apartment looked exactly as we remembered in the photos.

The bright colors on the kitchen walls highlighted the white cabinetry, furniture and linens, especially the glass door cupboard where the beautiful pottery dishes were kept. A round table with four chairs was covered with a Provencal tablecloth. The kitchen is fairly large with new appliances, including a washing machine, stove and dishwasher. It is supplied with a very nice coffee maker/espresso machine. The refrigerator-freezer was large. The cabinets were well equipped with very nice cooking utensils, dishes, and glassware. We needed nothing that wasn’t already supplied.

We were pleased with the two large bedrooms, one was decorated in blue/white and the other in a muted red. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were top quality, with several pillows to choose from.

The bathroom had a nice stall shower, with never ending hot water. The storage space in the bathroom was adequate. There was a hairdryer provided, along with fluffy, large towels. We found it nice to have a window in the bathroom to get fresh air and provide extra light during the day.

A binder with information was provided. This binder was a wealth of information. It also included the directions to the small, well supplied grocery a short walk away. Within twenty minutes of time we had picked up supplies for the next few days.

For dinner the first night we walked up the small pedestrian street, a two minute walk, to the restaurant/bar that had been mentioned in the owners’ binder. The food was delicious, the house wine was very drinkable and a friendly staff made us feel at home. We ate there several nights that week.

After our lovely dinner, we walked around the village then realized we were very tired. We slept well, knowing that we had made a good choice to stay in Kathy and Charley Woods’ wonderful apartment for our week in Bonnieux.
Both my friend, and I would recommend this apartment to all our friends and family. We gave it an A++.

 

James M – California, USA (November 2013)
Kathy: thanks for sharing your lovely home with us. what a wonderful and memorable time we had in Provence. your ‘Bonheur Bonnieux’ well deserves 5 stars, in terms of the quality/ convenience and location of the apartment, and the authentic beauty of provencial village of Bonnieux. especially, even in the late of Nov. we enjoyed local fruits/ products and been impressed with authentic local/ rustic provencial cuisines. We wish for another opportunity coming back to the ‘Bonheur Bonnieux’ soon.

 

Cynthia – Illinois, USA (June 2013)
I cannot rave about this apartment enough! I have always wanted to visit Provence and stay in a local home. My husband was leery of staying in a private rental but our stay in the Woods’ apartment has converted him! We had several contacts with the owners prior to finalizing the rental and they were so knowledgable and helpful that we knew the accolades we had read from National Geographic Travel about their tours extended to their private rental as well. The apartment is located in a wonderful small village in Provence with easy access by car to other towns you might want to see but there is plenty to do in Bonnieux as well including the excellent Friday market.

I have read the other reviews and agree with all of the positive things they say. The attention to detail was amazing. The apartment is clean and bright. Even though it was a very warm week while we were there, we never missed air conditioning. When the winds picked up, the windows were amazingly windproof!

I want to highlight a few things I haven’t seen mentioned in other reviews. We stayed here in the middle of a 15 day trip and it was wonderful to have a clothes washer and drying rack to use. It meant we could travel with just carry-on luggage! I made liberal use of the kitchen and always had everything I needed to prepare our meals. The Woods also made it easy to pack a picnic to take while exploring some of the other towns. They had a soft-sided cooler and several “blue ice” packets available to borrow.

We did eat at several of the restaurants and bought pastries every morning from the boulangeries down the street. It was clear that the Woods have made a positive impression on the townspeople – just mentioning that we were staying in their apartment increased the warmth of the smiles we received. We had one of the best meals of our lives at the L’Arome restaurant just across the street from the apartment.

 

Dennis – Washington, USA (July 2013)
The pictures show you how beautiful the apartment is, but they cannot show you the quality of even the smallest detail in how it has been finished and decorated. Everything in this apartment shows that it has only just been done and done with a deep knowledge of what travelers want and need. We were so lucky to be able to stay here as among the first people to get to share it with the Wood family. The location could not be more central; if you like walking to restaurants, for example, you’ll love that there are five within a short walk including L’Arome which is literally next door. By the way, we had a wonderful dinner there, one of the best we had this summer, and I have to say that Rick Steves is incorrect when he says that the best tables are on the terrace. Do what we did: get a table just inside the restaurant and next to the tables on the terrace. The best of both places. And check out the kitchen if you always wanted to see what a really professional French restaurant kitchen looked like when it was in top gear.

The first morning we were there, and every morning afterward, I became aware at 5:30 a.m. that both of the boulangeries were baking bread. They are each about twenty yards from the door of the apartment and we had our bedroom window open. My wife was still asleep so she missed it. But the two things that make me happy when I smell them in the morning are coffee and fresh bread baking. Each monring when we went to either boulangerie, the bread we got was still warm. Yum.

While each room has its charm, my favorite was the kitchen. It’s big, the appliances are new and first rate, the color scheme is delightful, and the view out over the terrace and onto the Luberon valley is wonderful. I did not cook much while we were there because so many good restaurants were just outside the door, but if I had I could have used any of the really complete set of kitchen ware provided, including everything from top-of-the-line enamel coated pots to toothpicks. In the kitchen, as in each of the rooms, the owners have decorated the walls with delightful posters and paintings of local scenes by a local artist (whom you can meet at her atelier in a nearby town).

When we arrived at the apartment, we were happy to find a cold bottle of rose in the fridge and two, not one but two, beautiful big bowls on cool, fresh local fruit.It was touches like that which let us know that the owners were in touch with what a traveler wants. Very highly recommended.

 

Chris – California, USA (June 2013)
This is an extraordinary apartment. It’s in a perfect location in the center of a beautiful Provençal village, it’s thoughtfully furnished and equipped, but more than all of that, it’s full of the joy and spirit of Provence – beautiful colors in every room, paintings of local scenes on the walls, and a kitchen full of cheerful Provençal dishes in red and yellow.

The location is fantastic, right in the center of Bonnieux, on the second floor (up one flight of stairs) for minimal noise, maximum privacy and beautiful views. Plentiful free parking is available in lots nearby, and cafes, restaurants, shops, and the big Friday market are all just a few steps from the door.

I especially loved the kitchen and terrace. I’ve stayed in a lot of vacation rentals, but this kitchen is by far the best-equipped I’ve ever seen. Everything is spotless, all of the equipment is in great condition and you’ll find everything you need to cook and serve gourmet meals. There’s a good-sized table in the kitchen and another on the terrace just outside the kitchen.

The living room is a cozy place to relax, with several great movies set in Provence among the highlights of a thoughtfully selected collection of movies, books and music.

I was alone so I used only the red bedroom, which was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom is up a short flight of stairs, but it is light and bright and clean and has a very good shower.

The owners were great to deal with, and when they asked after my stay if I had any suggestions for improvement, I couldn’t think of a single thing. It’s perfect as is.

 

Aggie – Massachusetts, USA (April 2013)
I had the distinct pleasure of being its first rental occupant and have to say that while I had high expectations about how this apartment would look and feel, I was still very pleasantly surprised by everything I experienced. This is clearly an apartment that was furnished and equipped to meet the needs and wants of an owner-occupant. This mean that I was surrounded by loving touches everywhere I went… tasteful artwork, thoughtful practical items, and attention to all the other little things that make a house a home. Some examples…a kind gesture of welcome, which included fresh fruit, a crusty baguette, and a chilled bottle of Eau alongside a starter bottle of Rose in the fridge. Then for my morning coffee I had a choice of a french press, if I wanted to wait the four minutes to brew, or I could use the time saving Tassimo, complete with an array of starter coffees. All I needed to do on morning one was roll out of that comfy bed, throw on some sweats and walk the 30 seconds to the boulangerie for my morning croissant and return to my little bit of heaven to enjoy my petit dejeuner. How lucky can you be?

The apartment is fabulous, charming, and comfortable. There are windows that look out on the street scenes of this enchanting town, as well as both bedroom windows that offer a stunning view of the valley below the town. The covered terrace offers pure delight when the sun is shining, and shelter when it’s not. In short there is not a thing I would change if it were my very own. Kudos to the owners.

For me aside from all the wonderful creature comforts of feeling at home, it’s also about location and feeling connected to the community, so this apartment can’t be beat…I just can’t wait to return to visit the wonderful markets at Coustellet, Lourmarin, Gordes, and Forcalquier once again and enjoying the bounty of great foods that await.